Annual General Meeting 2017


DATE Wednesday November 22nd, 7.30pm
VENUE Uplyme Village Hall

four beeches

As the year draws towards its close, it’s time to reflect on what we have achieved. At the AGM on Wednesday, we’ll review the highlights of 2017 and present some of our ideas for the year ahead – talks, visits, shows and fundraising events.

We hope you will continue your membership of the Society in 2018 and enjoy participating in the activities. We hope also that some members will take on responsibilities – become committee members themselves or volunteer to do work for which they have the time and a talent.

The AGM is the annual opportunity for members to declare an interest in helping with the smooth running of the Society – don’t be put off by the thought of taking on a big responsibility, but perhaps consider offering your help for a small limited project to see how you get on?

Please give a thought to how you might provide some help, either alone or with a friend or two (perhaps a job-share?) and talk to Chairman Brian Tomsett beforehand, or on the evening of the AGM, Wednesday November 23rd. You can contact Brian on 01297 444962, or email


  1. Welcome
  2. Apologies
  3. Minutes of 2016 AGM
  4. Matters Arising
  5. Chairman’s report
  6. Treasurer’s report
  7. Election of Officers and Committee
  8. Appointment of Auditor
  9. Any other business

Minutes of 2016 AGM

Uplyme & Lyme Regis Horticultural Society
Annual General Meeting 23rd November 2016 at Uplyme Village Hall

Apologies: were received from Beryl Denham and Brian Cursley

President’s Welcome:  Jenny Harding stated that the President, Beryl Denham was recovering well at home after her recent illness.  She had sent her thanks for the Committee and helpers for organising a varied programme throughout the year, of talks and events with good attendance.  As some Committee members were standing down she posed a question – new committee members and helpers were needed – why not try for a year?

Minutes of the 2015 AGM were distributed and following agreement were signed as a true record.

Matters arising:  Robin Britton stated that that no-one came forward to be Show Secretary but the committee had done a very good job organising the Show, sharing jobs throughout the Committee, with Gill Wells taking charge of the Marquee, showing that this plan does work!

Chairman’s Report:  Jenny Harding reported that there had been 9 excellent coach trips, 11 monthly meetings with varied talks, a stall at the Village Fete, a decorated tree at the Lyme Regis Christmas Tree festival, with the Chris Beardshaw talk as the highlight of the year.  Success at the Summer Show meant contributions to the School, Playing Fields and Village Hall.  More volunteers are always needed to help run the shows, and with teas etc.  Looking ahead, a Ceilidh with lively band and caller is booked for 25th February 2017, with a seed swap, sweet pea planting, Quiz and bring and share supper in January, a trip to Kingston Lacey in March, and in April a competition for bulbs in a vase or in a pot.  Retiring committee members – Jenny thanked Tony Cook for over 20 years service on the Committee, Gill Wells for her help at the Show, but who will continue to organise the raffles, and Marjorie Waters for her help with the Show.

Treasurer’s Report:  The Statement of Accounts was distributed which showed that it had been a good year with a surplus of £2,725.  Marquee costs were split over 2 years, and £400 had been passed to the Fortuneswell Charity.  The Social event of Ferret Racing raised less income than previous year.  Approval of the Accounts was proposed by Brian Tomsett, Seconded by Barbara Bull and unanimously agreed.

Election of Officers & Committee:  President Beryl Denham, proposed by Pam Corbin, seconded by Tony Cook;  Secretary Rose Mock, proposed by Jane Godfrey, seconded by Annie Kobus;  Treasurer John Routley, proposed by Robin Britton seconded by Gerry Hampton, were unanimously elected.  Committee members Robin and Rosemary Britton, Jenny Harding, Pam Corbin, Brian Tomsett and Annie Kobus proposed by Barbara Bull and seconded by Jane Hadley – a Chairman and Vice Chairman will be elected at the next Committee Meeting.    4 new Committee members – Anne Fudger, Anne Rose, Jenny Thompson and Barbara Kidson were proposed by Anya Driver, seconded by Brian Tomsett, with everyone in favour of these appointments.

Appointment of Auditor – Mrs Baker is prepared to carry on, proposed by Jenny Harding and seconded by Gerry Hampton.

There being no further business the meeting closed at 7.50pm.